Red Red Red Bean Curry

Posted on

Sending veganism packing with a bang in two ways this week by:

1. Planning a celebratory cheese-and-wine afternoon on Sunday;

2. Making my last meal, as it were, in the form of vegan-friendly kidney bean coconut curry !

What can I say about being dairy-free for a month ? Not a lot, to be honest. I don’t know if this was because I was already vegetarian before I started. Do I feel more healthier and more energised ? No more than usual. Did I lose weight ? About 2 lbs, so not much to speak of. I’ve enjoyed the challenges posed by egg-less baking. I had a few occasions where I really just fancied a bit of cheese or a fried egg, especially during hangovers; don’t miss milk though, soy is tasty.

Going out for dinner when you are a vegan but your boyfriend is the both the biggest carnivorous cheese-appreciator the universe has ever known and adamantly rejects/is terrified of all forms of cuisine that do not emanate from within a 1,500 km radius of the UK is trying to say the least, but with regards to eating/not eating certain things, I’ve found it neither easy nor difficult. Despite watching a few PETA anti-meat industry videos (possibly holding some truth, possibly just crazed propaganda) I don’t imagine I’ll stay strictly vegan forever, although I may keep my dairy intake to a general minimum from now on, save for special occasions. Being vegan/vegetarian is largely good for the environment and all in all, tofu-cheese is pretty yummy.

So anyway, back to curry. Really this recipe came about because I have a tin of economy kidney beans in my cupboard, and it’s been sitting at the back for a long time. I was thinking soup, chilli… rice and beans ? But in the end I decided to tackle the Great British Curry again. I threw this together after reading a combination of recipes from the internet, and was so taken in by the idea of everything being red that I adapted and combined them so that this curry would be as red as it could possibly be, yippee !

Makes 4 servings

You need these red things (and non-red things):
2-3 tbsps red curry paste
1 red onion, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, crushed
Olive oil
1 sweet potato, cubed
1 can of kidney beans, drained
1 carton chopped tomatoes
1 can coconut milk
1 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsps lime juice

Optional fresh coriander/rice to serve

Method:

Heat the olive oil in a pan and fry the onion, pepper and garlic for a few minutes

Add the curry paste and stir through

Add the potato and fry on a low heat for 5 minutes or so

Add the beans, coconut milk and tomatoes, followed by the soy sauce and lime juice

Put your rice on and cover the curry to simmer for 25-30 minutes, seasoning with salt and pepper and stirring through a few tablespoons of chopped coriander about 5 minutes before the end. Serve over rice, sprinkle a bit more coriander on top and another squeeze of lime and you’re laughing.

Mmm… fragrant.

Amy x

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

Leave a Reply

