White Bean and Pesto Burger

Posted on

Argh, just everything about this is sheer perfection in my eyes.

Greens. Salt and pepper and balsamic vinegar. Rosy red ketchup. Fresh tomato, red onion. Chewy wholemeal roll. And last, but not least, my adorable little butterbean burger with pesto.

So simple and easy and cheap and healthy and filling and delicious. Woo !

Basically, you just:
Blend together a tin of cooked butterbeans, drained, with:
1 tbsp of pesto (I made sure it was vegan – no parmesan in this baby)
1/2 a red onion
1 clove of garlic
50g of breadcrumbs
Salt and pepper to taste
Roll into patties – you should be able to get about 4
Coat with olive oil and bake in the oven at 180 degrees C for 30 minutes, turning halfway through.

Butterbeans work incredibly well as burgers, because they’re so… buttery ! They form a good patty, is what I’m trying to say. These would have been nice with a bit of mayo, but none for Gretchen Wieners as I had not the foresight to buy any of the egg-free stuff in town yesterday. Asparagus was half price though, as you can see.

Decided to be less hard on myself exercise-wise lest I continue to dwindle in mass to the point of illness. So instead of running 10 miles today I’m going to run 8. Baby steps. I’m going against what my warped opinion believes is my better judgement and I know my brain won’t be happy with this, so I just need to keep repeating to myself that not executing a 16-mile run every week does NOT mean I am going to gain weight. Save that for the next marathon. Save it for the next marathon…

If anyone wants to just casually slip that mantra into conversation when I’m around, or like, whisper it to me while I’m asleep, that’d be fab.

Amy x

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

Leave a Reply

