Vegan Baking Pt. II: Rustic Cupcakes

Yup, that's bona-fide dairy-free "butter"cream you see there.

I call them “Rustic Cupcakes,” because they were always intended to be cupcakes, except they’re nowhere near dainty or cute enough. They are the overweight child and I am the pushy mother who squeezes them into their leotard and drives them to ballet class week after week with disconcerting enthusiasm. (If you’ve just stumbled across this, please check out this post for the recipe and somewhat of an explanation for the weird series of events that led to this abomination.)

Maybe I should call them “Fairy-Scones.” As in fairy-cakes. That taste like scones. They are nice with the buttercream and a good cuppa – turns out hazelnut milk is really nice in tea. On some I just used plain buttercream (soya spread + icing sugar), others I used chocolate buttercream (soya spread + icing sugar + cocoa powder) and some I put a layer of fig jam in too !

Now for some photo evidence of me forcing my friends to enjoy my Frankenstein’s Monster of a batch of cupcakes… sorry, rustic cupcakes. If I say that it makes it sound intentional…

Today has been my last day of pesca-vegetarianism* for at least the next month. The milk is gone, the cheese is gone, the salmon is in the freezer; my kitchen is free of dairy indefinitely.

Next stop, Vegan Town !

Amy x

*I made this word up

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

Leave a Reply

