Vegan Baking Pt.1

It’s 4pm on a sunny April Saturday in Brighton and today I have achieved the following things:

1 cup of Earl Grey tea.
45 minutes of yoga/pilates workout
My first run since the marathon ! 25 minutes
1 multiseed bagel with peanut butter and a banana
1 load of washing in the machine
1 shower

…and one weird batch of dairy-free cupcake/scone/bread thingies.

I went into town yesterday and bought an array of culinary delights that will enable me to continue cooking and baking my favourite foods in a vegan-friendly manner, suffering the reproachful glares of the Infinity Foods staff for reasons I can only assume concern my lack of dreadlocks and hemp clothing… seriously, why are the people who work there so bloody miserable ?! It’s like you can never be hippie enough to get your groceries in Infinity Foods and thus must suffer the withering looks of people who will always have more difficult and complicated eco-friendly idealist lifestyles than you.

My wholefoods supermarket reputation may not have necessarily been helped along by my housemate’s incredibly loud remarks on vegan cheese (Tom: “So it’s cheese with no dairy ? Isn’t that just… plastic ?” Me: “Shh ! You can’t say that here, the hippies will get you !”) but nevertheless we march onward. I now have in my stocks some egg replacement powder, a block of dairy-free ‘mozzarella’, dairy-free ‘parmesan’, some vegan-friendly coriander/basil and mixed nut pesto and enough UHT soy milk to render the cow obsolete (sorry, cows). So before vegan pizza, vegan cheeseburgers and a variety of vegan pasta dishes occur, here is the first installment of my experimental dairy-free lifestyle (despite having milk, cheese and a salmon fillet still to use up before this whole thing becomes official on Monday)…

VEGAN CUPCAKES… ?

Except they don’t look much like cupcakes. More like scones.

Also I was so confused by the fact that the mixture formed a dough instead of a cake-mix that I got tired halfway through putting it in cupcake cases and just made a loaf.

If you are interested in baking this strange egg-less, butter-less, sugar-less bread-cake-thing, then follow these instructions, pilfered from Coconut Oil Cooking.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.

Combine:
3 cups plain flour (I just used an approx. 200ml tumbler, I could literally not be bothered with scales today)
1 tbsp baking soda
1 tsp salt

Then mix together:
1 cup honey (the original recipe called for sugar but I don’t have any)
1/2 cup coconut oil (soft but not liquid)
1 1/2 tsps of egg substitute powder
3/4 cup of hazelnut soy drink (I used this instead of regular soy milk)

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, until lightly browned on top. Actually I had to bake the loaf for about 45 minutes and I played around with the temperature on both, moving it between 180 and 200. Also I went for run in between baking the scones and the loaf so had to turn the oven off, and when I got back I didn’t really give it a chance to reheat. I would suggest keeping an eye on them, I really have no idea.

I’ve actually yet to taste these, and until that happens I will be unsure of their destination – (vegan) cheese ? Jam ? Icing ? Or bin…

Watch this space to find out !

Amy x

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

Leave a Reply

