Carbophobia I: What I Ate on Sunday

What Amy Ate Today: Sunday 29th January, 2012

BREAKFAST:
Vegan oat pancakes

15g wholemeal flour
10g oats
Pinch of salt
Pinch of baking soda
50ml soy milk
Squeeze of lemon juice
Drop of vanilla extract
Vegetable oil

First thing: add the lemon juice to the milk and leave to stand. Apparently this substitutes buttermilk (what is buttermilk ?)
Combine flour, oats, salt and baking soda
Add vanilla extract and a tiny amount of vegetable oil to milk and stir into dry ingredients
Heat a pan with a drop of vegetable oil
Pour in batter and cook 2-3 minutes on medium heat; flip with spatula when done and cook other side the same

150 cal for the lot; yields 1 large or 2 small pancakes (I find 2 small ones make me feel less ‘cheated’ than just having one pancake !)

Serve with fruit, honey, whatever ! I had two spoonfuls of natural yoghurt and a handful of blueberries. Also a coffee with skimmed milk.

Total: 225 calories

LUNCH:
Toasted butternut squash bread with goat’s cheese, pear-and-walnut chutney and rocket

½ a butternut squash
260g wholemeal flour
60ml water
120ml olive oil
2 eggs
Pinch of salt
90g brown sugar
Pinch or two each of cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom
Salt and black pepper
1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 175 degrees
Brush squash with olive oil, sprinkle with a little cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper
Bake for 1 hour
Make an elaborate coffee to pass the time
Scoop out squash innards from skin and blast in food processor. Try not to confuse ‘food processor’ with ‘mouth’ while you do this.
Mix purée, eggs, oil, sugar and water
Mix flour, baking soda and spices separately
Combine wet and dry ingredients – be careful not to over-mix
Pour into lightly greased loaf tin and bake for 1 hour

Providing you can get 20 thin slices out of one loaf, each slice contains just under 130 calories, so you can have 2 per serving. If you can’t slice it thinly enough, make 10 and only have 1 for a serving.

Garnish with chopped walnuts in the rare absence of pear and walnut chutney...

Serve 2 small or 1 large slice toasted and spread with mild, creamy goat’s cheese and chutney of choice. Garnish with rocket, salt and pepper. The sweetness goes wonderfully with the peppery rocket, but because it’s almost cake-like, it can equally be served as a sweet treat with your afternoon tea.

Total: 380 calories

(Recipe courtesy of My Baking Addiction)

DINNER:
Spinach trottole alfredo with artichokes and grilled asparagus

For the alfredo sauce:
1 teaspoon olive oil
30g (Philadelphia Extra Light) cream cheese
50ml skimmed milk
1 clove of garlic
1 tbsp parmesan cheese
Black pepper
Salt
(all this for 150 calories !)

Other ingredients:
85g spinach trottole (although it doesn’t have to be spinach, or trottole for that matter)
Artichokes in olive oil, 1 jar
5 stalks of asparagus

Preheat grill to medium heat
Put pasta on to cook (6-8 minutes)
Brush asparagus with a little oil from the artichokes and sprinkle with salt. Put under grill
Heat oil in pan
Cook garlic
Stir in cream cheese
Add milk a little at a time
Stir in parmesan
Season
Drain pasta
Stir in grilled asparagus and sauce, and about a quarter of the jar of artichokes, drained. (I like to keep the saucepan on a low heat to ensure pasta does not cool during this process. If you want you can season again with salt and black pepper before transferring to bowl.)

Total: 505 calories

= 1110 calories

+ snacks (1 apple, 1 tangerine, 1 carrot, handful of mange tout, 1 Graze punnet of peanuts: 360 calories)

Sunday grand total: 1470 calories

So I have somewhat upped my calorie intake since my first carbophobia post because I was just feeling so goddamn awful, and to be honest on the point of giving up. I ran 8 miles without stopping for the first time in my life on Friday. And I feel INCREDIBLE. Really it all came down to this: eat more or fail, and I’ve given up failure this year so I had no choice. Even when I don’t look it up I can still tot up a rough calorie total in my head because from years of obsessive counting I know pretty much the calorie content of everything I eat. And if I don’t, I just check the packet (my sad life…). This is a non-training day so I’m happy with 1500 cal; on the days where I run I’ve been consuming between 1700 and 1900. Before I started training I would have balked at these numbers, but I’ve never done this much exercise before so I kind of feel okay about it.

BUT there is just this one thing…

Apparently day for firsts, Friday was also the first time in a very long while that I did not feel hungry. Already having been for my run in the morning, I got in from a cello practice session assuming I was ravenous, as I usually am. I cut up an apple and half a mango and put the kettle on. The unfinished bowl of fruit sat next to me for the next few hours; the milky tea all but finished me off, I felt so full ! It scared me a little bit. Is this what it feels like to eat properly ? When the realisation occurred I immediately jumped to the conclusion that my body was too full and was therefore going to start STORING ENERGY AS FAT. But I decided that was as far as I was going to lament it. This is a good thing ! The 8-mile run (according to the Endomondo app on my phone) burned 700 calories – how could anyone possibly gain weight doing that of a day ?! Encouraging.

Eating more and running more definitely tops eating the bare minimum, burning out and ultimately feeling pants.

I feel happier.

Amy x

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

2 responses »

  1. Made your gnocchi with sweet potato and roasted pepper and tomato sauce. It is now being written into my recipe binder (this is an honour indeed!)

    Reply
  2. The oat pancakes look awesome

    Reply

Leave a Reply

