An Experimental Afternoon: Junk Food Trauma and Huevos Rancheros

I have a confession to make. I’ve been very bad.

I just made these.

So, I made cake. Out of wholemeal bread flour. I don’t know why I did this. Boredom must have prevailed (it gets very lonely in our house on a Monday afternoon, it seems. I should probably cease to be left alone with the oven).

Anyway, the whole ordeal had a promising start. It was because I wanted something to do with the crystallised ginger, like, for example, bake it into muffins (because I tried some and I forgot that I hate the taste of ginger on its own, why did I make this? I thought to myself). So, as usual I began my internet-wide search for tasty treats that retain even just the slightest bit of healthiness and nutritional value, and found many recipes for high-fibre-low-carb-low-fat bran muffins, oat muffins, and, yes, there are many combinations that involve fruit and candied ginger. Perfect.

Then I realised I don’t have any muffin cases.

Or a muffin tin.

So I made a big cake. Out of some weird mixture I concocted from a cake (not muffin) recipe (I forget where it is now, I’ve looked at so many this afternoon) that involved nothing but oil, sugar and flour. No eggs. I put milk in; all the flour I have is for bread, but I used it anyway. I used no measurements whatsoever, not even “a handful” or “a glug.” It was totally arbitrary and I was feeling very uneasy about the whole thing. But I put it in the oven and hoped for the best, figuring that I’d made the mixture anyway so may as well see if it tastes alright.

Well, it did. But I couldn’t for the life of me get it out of the baking tin. (Yes, I greased it. But obviously not enough.)

So with a lot of scraping and peeling I finally managed to get it out of the tin. In pieces. So I looked up a fridge cake recipe and resigned myself to mixing together suspect quantities of dark chocolate, butter, peanut butter, honey and marshmallows, layered it all up in cups and chucked it in the fridge.

THIS IS THE UNHEALTHIEST THING I THINK I HAVE EVER MADE. How has this been allowed to happen ? I am going to eat one, obviously, who wouldn’t ? I’m going to give the other one to darling Gareth. He can share in my junk-food trauma (JFT, to which it will from now on be abbreviated). Don’t read on if you’re calorie-phobic: I’ve estimated this dessert to be worth around 531 calories. I’m telling you, Christ, this better be worth it.

And at the end of the whole ordeal…

The candied ginger DIDN’T EVEN GET USED.

There, in the blue tupperware. Look how lonely it is.

So here is something HEAPS healthier that I made the other week but haven’t got round to posting. Huevos Rancheros is so tasty and easy I can almost let the pictures speak for themselves.

Huevos Rancheros for 1

You’ll need:

Chopped tomatoes (enough for you, half a pack ?)

1-2 eggs

1 clove of garlic

Olive oil

Tomato puree

Seasoning (basil, salt, pepper, cayenne)

Cheese to serve

What to do:

Heat olive oil in a saucepan

Reduce heat and add chopped tomatoes,  tomato puree and crushed garlic (and some basil, wink)

Season with salt and cayenne pepper. Or whatever you have in your cupboard

Simmer for 10 minutes

Getting steamy...

Break your egg(s) into the tomato mixture. Cover and let eggs poach until they are cooked to the consistency that you like

Spoon eggs and sauce onto toast/wrap/pitta and serve with vegetable of your choice (I made steamed spinach) and garnish with cheese (YES ! YES ! MORE, MORE CHEESE !)

Calories per serving (2 eggs, without cheese, bread or veg): 234; fat: 14.5g; of which saturates: 3.6g.

I don’t know if the orgasmic-ness of the simple combination that is garlic and tomato is sufficiently recognised in British society today.

I’m going on an awareness march.

See you when garlic-tomato sauce has dominated the world.

Amy x

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

2 responses »

  1. LONG LIVE TOMATO AND GARLIC. Though THEY have to be served with basil.

    Reply
  2. That’s my lunch for tomorrow sorted! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

