Tomato and Basil Nom

Argh I had the most fantastic idea that is so much more amazing than cheese bagel: fresh tomato and basil soup (so obsessed with basil right now). So instead of my pre-planned ½ wholemeal bagel, cheese, tomato and basil, I looked up a recipe for tomato and basil soup and found this: by Wendy from A Wee Bit of Cooking. Why didn’t I think of this sooner ?!

You know what I love ? Is when you look up a recipe and you already have all the ingredients ! It’s like fate wanted me to make this soup ! Okay so I didn’t have stock; a nice little stroll to the shop would have sorted that one out quickly, and got me out of my bed for a little bit which is always good but man, I went for a run this morning for the first time in over a month, it went well at first and I thought yeah, I’ll tackle the GIANT HILL that my house is on and felt great, then my heart started exploding, no jokes, and my lungs were screaming, “STOP, OH CRUEL MISTRESS, WE THOUGHT YOU’D GIVEN UP EXERCISE FOR WINTER AND GONE INTO HIBERNATION !” – which is pretty must what I have done since September – and I looked at my watch and a measly 12 MINUTES had gone by, so I pushed myself to 20 where I all but collapsed on my front doorstep. Ooh, it was not pleasant, but at least I know it’s all er… uphill from here.

So yes, due to this horrible experience I couldn’t even bring myself to walk to the shop, so I used hot water and balsamic vinegar in place of the vegetable stock (1 cup water, 2 tablespoons vinegar, pinch or two of salt).

This recipe serves 6, so I tried to estimate the quantities for one. Well actually this was all I had so I just shoved it all together and hoped for the best…

~

Fresh tomato and basil soup (adapted from A Wee Bit of Cooking)

2 small/medium tomatoes (this was all I had, probably use 3 if you can)

1 onion (the original recipe said 2 for 6 people, but I fricken love onion so I used a whole one, and especially as I only had 2 tomatoes I wanted to bulk it out)

1 carrot

1 garlic clove

Dash of olive oil

Vegetable stock (or whatever you decide to substitute)

2 tablespoons tomato puree (I didn’t diminish the quantities here because tomato puree is yummy)

(Generous !) Handful of basil leaves

Seasoning (whatever you like, salt, pepper, oregano etc.)

Peel and seed the tomatoes

Chop and fry the onion for a few minutes until softened, then add crushed garlic

Add tomatoes, tomato puree and carrots and cook for 10 minutes. If, like me, you made this on a whimsical whimsy whim and only had 2 tomatoes, make sure you stir it lots or it’ll stick. I get the feeling that more tomatoes would equal more juice and therefore less stick-age.

Add enough stock to cover mixture by a centimetre or two – I prefer a stodgy soup so I didn’t put a hell of a lot of “stock” in – and simmer for 15 minutes. More stock can always be added when blending if the soup needs thinning.

(I tasted it at this point - divine)

Add basil and blend

Season, reheat in the pan/microwave if necessary and serve !

Calories: 210; fat: 4.5g; of which saturates 0.6g

So easy and tasty and healthy and aaaah… grab something carby, wholemeal and chunky and get dipping. Be as uncouth as is humanely possible.

action shot bagel

I ate this by candlelight with my housemate, Tommy, and it was exquisite. I may very well have over-basiled it, but I think in light of the basil infatuation this is not surprising. Tommy tried some (he was polite and refused at first until I dipped a piece of bread in the soup and pretty much shoved it in his mouth) and guess what he said:

“Wow.”

Which I think means that I can safely say thank you, Wendy for the completely awesome soup recipe !

(Although Tom may only have said this due to the violent insistence with which I proffered his morsel…) But anyhow…

Mission Soup: accomplished !

 

The parents are visiting on Sunday (I miss them !) so I’m going to have to substitute one of the meals on the menu (most likely the pasta, and I’ll have soup for dinner – tinned, not gorgeous and homemade) with lunch out. I’ll write about it if it’s spectacular/a disaster.

Night !

Amy x

~

(Aaand here’s the whole recipe again but a bit clearer, without annoying commentary and mental pictures)

Fresh tomato and basil soup for one:

Ingredients:

2-3 small/medium tomatoes

1 onion

1 carrot

1 garlic clove

Dash of olive oil

Vegetable stock

2 tablespoons tomato puree

Handful of basil leaves

Seasoning (salt, pepper, oregano etc.)

Method:

Peel and seed the tomatoes

Chop and fry the onion for a few minutes until softened, then add crushed garlic

Add tomatoes, tomato puree and carrots and cook for 10 minutes

Add enough stock to cover mixture by a centimetre or two

Add basil and blend, adding more stock if the soup needs thinning

Season, reheat in the pan/microwave if necessary and serve

About AmySquirrell

Musician Food-lover Student

4 responses »

  1. One of my favourite combinations – fantastic.

    Reply
  2. Very glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply
  3. Whats up very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .
    . I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?

    I am glad to find so many useful info here within the
    put up, we need work out extra strategies on this regard,
    thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Reply
  4. {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty worth enough
    for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

